Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Knowing and having our needs met is so important.. Emotional neglect survivors so often deny their needs..

Change Therapy

Abraham Maslow was a psychologist in the twentieth century who pioneered the humanistic approach to psychology. He is best known for his hierarchy of needs.

Maslow believed that human wants may be structured into a hierarchy, in order to better understand what motivates people.

This hierarchy includes everything from basic needs like food and water to more complex ideals like self-fulfilment.

When a lower need is met, the following needs in the hierarchy become our centre of attention, according to Maslow. These are the five categories of needs according to Maslow:


Physiological needs – these are biological need for human survival, such as air, food, drink, shelter, clothes, warmth, sex, and sleep, to name a few.

If these requirements are not met, the human body will not function optimally.

Physiological requirements, according to Maslow, are the most important of human wants.

If a person is lacking in more than…

View original post 406 more words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s