I held your hand

Child

Alone here today

I held your little hand in mine

Debs I travelled so far

In forgetting the way home to you

I lost and buried you

In the deep

And forgot for so many years

That you were always so close by

Waiting for me to wake up to you

Crying all alone in the dark

How hard it must have been for you

To see the larger me go deaf and numb to you

Pouring down my gullet

Things to shut you up

But now

The healing miracle that took years

You are here with me

We have found each other

Or I have found the way back to you

I will never leave you darling

And though we should never deny

How much we long

For another human hand to hold

Know this

That for as long as I am alive

You will never be alone again

I will always be here

Leave a Reply

