Magpie came

Magpie

Magpie came

as I dug in the garden

on  a cold winter afternoon

drawing close

heartbeat upon heartbeat

waiting for worms

or a sign

of the earth

turning

I turned to say

hello Maggie

my image reflected

in her dark eyes

I feel her

silently with me

her presence

a gentle benediction

she speaks to my heart

her silent companionship

a balm

on this bleak day

how can I explain

her beauty

in words

how precious she is to me

and how much I feel

she is not the trespasser

in my garden

rather the tresspasser

is me

Leave a Reply

