Free

Unrequied love

Freely I give my heart to thee

Why does my freedom depend

On you accepting my gift

For the gift to you may represent

Inconvenience

Burden

Shackle

Freely I give my heart to thee

And in the giving surrender

All that I hope for

When that hope is returned

Happiness

When that hope is denied

What happens?

Forced back within

Frustrated hope rattles the bars of its cages

And festers a curse

That revisits itself again

Over years

My freedom is lost

Until hope turned sour

Ferments

And finds dissolution over time

Tears and time

Time and tears

Work their alchemy slowly

On my soul

Which dreams its restless dreams

All through the restless night

Until one day I awaken

To find myself

Free

Leave a Reply

