My place of belonging

21805_809117142512073_841855435880862498_n

I remember every day

How it felt to be sore inside

With all the feelings

I was so scared to let me myself feel

With all the longing for connection

I was so scared to admit to myself

Now as silent rain falls

Here deep inside the darker day

All is calm and quiet

My body no longer hurts so much

And everything feels okay

Bearable manageable

I see for how many years

I felt as a little child

Thrown into an adult world

I did not feel a part of

And could not understand

Now I know I don’t have to belong

But can belong to me

And trust that along the way

On my life’s journey

I can build my own world

And find

My own place of belonging

Leave a Reply

