For a while

imagesCAPAIDRT

For a while we connected

Love flowed

But then the misunderstanding came

I see the part I played in it

All my fears and worries

But also how I did not stay true

To saying I would fly under the radar

Maybe you appealed to the little child in me

Who was never seen or heard

Who was shamed for expressing

A light hearted side

For a time she could dance

And then the shutters came down

So sad now

Our friendship did not last

I see my part

I hope the sadness does not last

For I want to sing and dance

And love and give

And feel free

To let you be you

And me be me

Out in the middle of a golden field

Where fear no longer throws its shadows

Over our hearts

Leave a Reply

