Realising my need to connect

I always thought that being alone was the ideal and certainly there are times its okay to be alone but I am waking up on some level to the fact that I have just been alone SOOOO much for years that it has been a terribly painful thing.  There have been times when support was offered to me, but I could not trust the support and much of my needing to be alone has been due to the sheer essential necessity of self protection, far better to be alone than to be with others who hurt you, let you down or just don’t get you.   Then I had accidents when I didn’t accept my need to be with people following the ending of my marriage which came on the back of me resisting support or fearing it.

At the moment I feel the aching in my body to be with people.  To be in a place where I can connect.  Its seems this being left or forced to be alone theme is such a deeply ancestral one when I consider it.  At the moment when certain degrees in my astrology ancestors charts get triggered and at the time of critical migration with Thomas Matts Trudgeon (my great, great grandfather) left his home in Cornwall with his wife Eliza Jane and four children I get to experience these deep ancestral themes that have outplayed most especially in the life of my oldest sister who died a few years ago and had those same degrees in her own chart connected to the time of migration for her own GG Grandfather.

I had a longing to go to see my nephews (her sons) just over a few months ago.  In the end the trip got cancelled.  I got scared and I didn’t know how safe I would be.  Mum decided it wasn’t the best time to go north with her legs prone to swelling and we called the trip off, but talking about it with my therapist yesterday I see that I have been feeling more depressed since we made the decision not to go.  Mum then got really sick a few days out from making the decision and we have all regressed again in some way.  It may actually be a necessary regression, though. A regression in terms of healing and bringing to consciousness something quiet deep.

We are in the anniversary of my Dad’s illness and death and my sister’s breast cancer last year.  I have been the one crying.  Today my brother is visiting and we are going to the hospital together to see Mum.  I am so happy about this.  I rarely see my brother and often feel a great distance from him but I opened up deeply to Mum the other day and feel this is going to be a meeting in which I can open up, or at least speak my truth with them.  And I feel there is a re-connection that is trying to happen at a time when the big disconnect started to happen for my family with my father’s death leading up to the anniversary of my oldest sister’s stroke.

I will keep you posted.  Its just lovely though for me to begin to be able to feel the true needs of my heart free of the barricades of so much fear and defensiveness today.  The sun is out and I feel hope after some very dark days and two nights of bad nosebleeds.  I felt it was as though my life blood was screaming out from my heart,  Deb don’t keep me trapped and locked up inside any more, let me feel love, let me give love.   Set me free.  Today I am listening.   I hope my hope does not get harshly dashed on the rocks of reality, but you know what, if it does I can and will cope.  That I know for sure.

8 thoughts on “Realising my need to connect

  1. Great blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices
    out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions?
    Thanks!

    1. As far as I know Gerald WordPress isn’t free you pay a yearly subscription and then more if you want to use a so called ‘theme’ design that costs.
      I only started blogging about 3 years ago. Before that I had always journalled but never been published. I had written poems too.
      I am sorry I don’t know more to help you, but I can say WordPress is a great platform to use and in time I hope to get some help to design my own website, that’s not anything I know a whole lot about. Good luck. Let me know if you have a blog. I’d love to support you and read it. All the best. Deborah

  2. Hi there, I discovered your web site by way of Google even as looking for a similar topic, your web site got here up, it seems to be
    good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, just become aware of your weblog thru Google, and found
    that it’s truly informative. I am gonna watch out for
    brussels. I’ll appreciate if you happen to continue this in future.
    Many folks will likely be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  3. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this
    blog with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

