Psychiatry ignores trauma says Dr. Bessel van der Kolk

During our current mental health week no mention was made of people like Bessel van der Kolk who is one of the world’s leading experts on trauma. Why is his voice not more widely heard? I am posting this as it is very important for those of us recovering to have this information at hand.

Everything Matters: Beyond Meds

Psychiatry Must Stop Ignoring Trauma, says Dr. Bessel van der Kolk

Yes, please, and thank you for saying so! 

Of course psychiatry must not just stop ignoring trauma, it must stop retraumatizing the already traumatized. It’s clients. The very vulnerable people who seek help and end up being harmed further. Not only are hospitals and a lot of standard treatment horribly abusive the medications have been found to be further agents of trauma.

It’s also true that coercion, subtle or otherwise, is the rule in psychiatric care and that the United Nations has also declared forced treatment to be a form of torture.

Hallelujah for folks like Bessel van der Kolk and Gabor Mate who are helping bridge the gap between lived experience and academic clinicians who are totally missing the boat and causing more harm.

We can heal and we do given the right sort of supports. The mainstream mental illness…

View original post 376 more words

6 thoughts on “Psychiatry ignores trauma says Dr. Bessel van der Kolk

  1. I find the whole revelation that there is PTSD for Civilians as well as soldiers is almost laughable because why did it take so long for The Mental Health representatives to see that some people have a combat war like atmosphere in their living rooms. So they finally realize there is a need to validate and research trauma and then the whole project seems to fade away and regress

    1. Yes I could not agree with you more. I think its a sign of how split off our entire society is from being connected to the heart and feeling realities. Many of us go through a world war in our young lives, our soul may be the victim of a murder and thus we are diagnosed as ‘mentally ill’ when our souls have just been forced into exile or our nervous systems are so dysregulated that we suffer and seek for something to soothe which only ends up hurting us more.

      1. I am sure you are not. There was a guy who wrote a book a long time ago, I didn’t read all of it but it was called The Myth of Mental Illness or something like that. There are those who see into the heart of things and see also the collective nature of trauma as it replays over long generations. I think we stand at a critical watershed time when we have the ability to find more depth of understanding into traumas impact at both personal and collective levels.

      2. Maybe I misinterpreted, I was reading a book on trauma and self help etc trying to figure out my past because I don’t remember most of it and the book said that sometimes we (make up) our lives and build false realities and it made me sad, especially when you are seeking comfort and clarity. So I gave a whole bunch of people the benefit of the doubt and later had a de ja vu when I realized they were in fact sick….(abusive)

      3. I hope I didn’t confuse you with the way I replied to your original comment. What I meant was I am sure you are not alone in thinking like I do. It is very hard to be told you are ‘making something up’, that is what happens in abuse. I am glad you saw the truth. We don’t suffer trauma unless we are abused. Our body and soul wont be lied to for long. It will find someway to get the truth heard.

Leave a Reply

