An Ocean to Cross

327

If this heart is anything

It is an ocean

And its an ocean that I cannot cross

To get to you today

Today the heart requires that I become diver

Or at least stand here

And allow the wave to submerge me

Taking me under with this grief

That almost feels too large

For my heart to bear

Why should I fear this

Because it feels like an undoing?

Of all my hearts well laid plans

But in the undoing I discover essential truths

That could not be discovered in any other way

My heart aches with pain

And longing

I want to be with you

And yet today I need to be alone

There are essential things to do

Important things to feel

And there would be an ocean to cross

To get to you

An ocean that today

I cannot cross

Leave a Reply

