Self Rejection

The following quote spoke so deeply to me this morning.  If only more of us were wise to how and why we become set up to self reject and learned instead to love ourselves, how much more love there could be.

Over the years I have come to realize that the greatest trap in our life is not success, popularity, or power, but self rejection.  Success, popularity, and power can indeed present a great temptation, but their seductive quality often comes from the way they are part of the much larger temptation to self rejection.  When we have come to believe the  voices that call us worthless and unlovable, then success, popularity and power are easily percieved as attractive solutions.  The real trap, however is self rejection.  As soon as someone accuses or criticises me, as soon as I am rejected, left alone, or abandoned, I find myself thinking, “well that proves once again I am nobody”… (my dark side says,) I am no good.. I deserve to be pushed aside, forgotten, rejected, and abandoned.  Self rejection is the greatest enemy of the spiritual life became it contradicts the sacred voice that calls us the “Beleved”.  Being the Beloved constitutes the core truth of our existence.

Henri J.M. Nouwen

One thought on “Self Rejection

  1. So true..Another quote I use in my Coaching is ‘Nobody can reject you without your permission’..This is similar to Eleanor Roosevelt’s quote ”Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent”…It is reminding ourselves that no matter how much others reject us, hurt us, demean us, we will be fine as long as we don’t reject ourselves..x

Leave a Reply

